The Ultimate Carb Buster

Before the Adkins Diet, the South Beach Diet, and the Zone Diet, my grandfather discovered the ultimate low carb diet.  He had Diabetes and was supposed to avoid sugar and simple carbohydrates.  In some ways, he followed the standard protocol.  He avoided high carb foods like bread, watermelon and potatoes.  He drank Diet Dr. Pepper instead of regular Dr. Pepper.  And he never ate dessert — at least not at the table.

Skipping dessert at the table is the key to my grandfather’s Carb Busting diet.  My grandfather never ate dessert at the table.  This is no small feat when the dessert in question is pecan pie.  He loved pecan pie and I don’t think I can remember a holiday gathering that didn’t include at least one.

Someone would slice the pie and ask who wanted a slice.  My grandfather would remind us that he couldn’t eat it and pass the slices along.  Then, while everyone else was wallowing in the misery of overindulgence, my grandfather would sneak into the kitchen and eat pie over the kitchen sink. This happened every holiday and not once did my grandfather have issues with his blood sugar shooting through the roof.  The obvious conclusion is that there are no carbs in pecan pie as long as you eat it over the sink.  I imagine the same is true for cheesecake.

About reginasewell

I am a counselor, psychodramatist, writer, healing practitioner and college professor. I have a monthly column, "InsightOut" in Outlook (www.outlookcolumbus.com), an essay, "Sliding Away" in "Knowing Pains" and a book out "We're Here! We're Here! We're Queer! Get Used to Us!" My goal, through my writing, counseling and teaching is to help people heal from the emotional wounds and limiting beliefs that keep them from living engaging and meaningful lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

