Rice Krispies Gone Wrong

I don’t know what went wrong.  I put marshmallows and butter in the microwave, hit start, stirred frequently and ended up with an icky, sticky mess.  The marshmallows didn’t seem to melt, so I kept nuking the mixture.  By the time the marshmallows all melted, the concoction was thick as tar.  Undaunted, I added psuedo Rice Krispies to the almost flaming goop.  They weren’t mixing in all that well, so I tried pressing the the krispies in.  When that failed, I poured some krispies on wax paper and dumped the glop onto it and tried pressing the glop into the krispies – like when you knead cookie dough into flour before you roll it.  By the time I was done, there were krispies scattered all over the counter and crunching under my feet on the floor.  The results weren’t pretty — my “masterpiece” looked downright shaggy.

Ever the optimist, I thought that perhaps if they had a chance to cool, I could cut them into squares, shake off the excess krispies and they’d be interesting in a good way.   I even thought of drizzling melted chocolate on them in an artsy way to cover up the shaggyness.  That was until I tried a hunk.  It took three hunks before I accepted fate:  they didn’t make the grade.  Not to worry though.  They won’t go to waste.  I’m sending them to work with my partner.  She’ll leave them in the lounge and they’ll be gone by noon.

About reginasewell

I am a counselor, psychodramatist, writer, healing practitioner and college professor. I have a monthly column, "InsightOut" in Outlook (www.outlookcolumbus.com), an essay, "Sliding Away" in "Knowing Pains" and a book out "We're Here! We're Here! We're Queer! Get Used to Us!" My goal, through my writing, counseling and teaching is to help people heal from the emotional wounds and limiting beliefs that keep them from living engaging and meaningful lives.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Disasters, Rice Krispie Treats and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rice Krispies Gone Wrong

  1. haha! I’m the same way – ever the optimist…”oh, if I add *this*, it will be perfect!”…um, not always the case. But there is also *always* that one set of people that will ingest anything that is left in front of them 😉

Leave a Reply

